Spinach Patch

A lovely day out in the garden today, cold but sunny. Did a load of clearing up and prepared a small bed for this year’s spinach.

Last year I was amazed, I sowed a few spinach beet seeds (I use perpetual spinach rather than real spinach) in one of my main raised beds and it turned out to be massively prolific, in fact we probably had too much in the end which was a victory in itself. Self-sufficient in spinach! So this year I have chosen a smaller patch. I am even hoping that it might self-seed and so that will be our spinach patch for ever more. We shall see.

Douglas the cat has been a great help in the garden today, he has supervised to make sure my work is up to ‘scratch’, and helped me to stretch the net which will keep him off the soil. πŸ˜‰

3 Comments

  1. Peter said,

    February 21, 2010 at 1:18 am

    Yep, what I think is a nice, freshly prepared raised bed, the cats think is a nice, freshly prepared raised toilet! Still, you’ve got to love ’em.

    My problem is consistency, one year a crop does wonderfully, the next the results are feeble. You’re left asking your what you did differently. Only the rhubarb bed is a gift that keeps on giving and giving and giving!

  2. lepotager said,

    February 24, 2010 at 3:27 pm

    Looking good Andy – when do those seeds go in?

    Andrew

    • February 24, 2010 at 5:02 pm

      I have already sowed a packet onto the bed to see how they do – spinach beet is a very hardy plant. I have plenty more in case they don’t germinate.

      I won’t be sowing anything else until I get my greenhouse set up though, which will hopefully be in the next week or two, weather permitting.


Leave a Reply

