Stone Free

Had a great day yesterday at Transition Stone’s “Festival of Possibilities” – the location was the very beautiful Hayes at Stone, a big old house in acres of picturesque grounds which is home to a small community of Transitioners giving a whole range of workshops, everything from bread-making, bicycle maintenance and diesel engine vegetable oil conversions to micro-hydro and woodworking using a home made pole lathe. I gave my Green Cottage presentation as a contribution.

I don’t know if it was a combination of the venue, lovely weather and kindred spirits or the home made cake, soup and crusty rolls, but the whole day was really heartwarming and gave me a real lift. It’s not that often I find people who are really on my wavelength but this was one occasion. Thankyou Transition Stone for a great day and a big success, all power to you!!

Love the home made geodome πŸ˜‰

3 Comments

  1. Rob said,

    September 6, 2010 at 9:10 pm

    Glad you enjoyed it Andy! πŸ™‚ It was great to have you along and everyone I spoke to really enjoyed your talk.

    It was a great day and hopefully we can build on it; Stone’s not a typically green/alternative area like Totnes or Hebden Bridge so it was nice to see a healthy turn out. Obviously it would have been nice to have had a few more, but the great thing was that I’d never met most of the people before! In my opinion the ‘pro-active’ nature of the Transition concept is something that a lot more people would be interested in if they knew about it, and has the potential to appeal to people who aren’t necessarily ‘greenies’- which is what gives it the edge over traditional campaign groups like Friends of the Earth. I think we went some way to achieving that yesterday, which was apparent by the number of families and people who probably have a casual interest in environmental issues in attendance.

    I’ve also been thinking about the small-scale camp/gathering idea we were talking about yesterday…definitely worth pursuing methinks! πŸ™‚

  2. Greg said,

    September 7, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    Hi Andy,
    whilst I attended the Transition event to represent our hydro project in Tutbury, I really enjoyed the whole event, and in particular your presentation about your DIY work on Green Cottage.

    I also live in a 1900’s end terrace and sometimes despair at the limited possibilities in making it more efficient (within a budget!).

    I’ve already started to plan for the replacement of my cranky old combi boiler, and utilising my cellar for all sorts of pipeworks and possibly a woodburner.

    I will point the rest of our group at your site as I know they are already working towards some low carbon initiatives with an eye to other housing stock in the village.

    • September 8, 2010 at 9:01 am

      Hi guys, really glad you enjoyed as much as I did, if you have any more questions about our set-up please just post them up here and I will be pleased to respond!!


Leave a Reply

